Momentary lapse of life

R/C, PC Security, and anything else that interests me at the time…

Leaving an old friend…

Well after eleven years, I decided to install a different Linux operating system onto my desktop.  I originally started using KNOPPIX, in 2002, and I quickly started distribution hopping until a few weeks later I ended on Debian GNU/Linux.  I have had some issues with it, but nothing I could not work out myself with some research.  Recently a friend and online community member was kind enough to purchase an AMD Phenom II x6 CPU for my system, which was replacing my aging AMD Sempron 140, a single core CPU.  Little did I know that TigerDirect failed to mention exactly how many cores were supported for my motherboard.  On the website they did mention that the AMD Phenom II CPU was supported which I eagerly installed.

I started to have an issue getting past the POST screen, and the faint single beep when starting stated all was normal.  I was never getting into my operating system though.  I went into the BIOS, and checked all the settings, and the CPU was found, and the amount of cores were displayed, but it was strange that the motherboard said the CPU was an unknown six core CPU.  I tried the safe settings, and still did not boot past the POST screen.  I went into the BIOS again, and changed the settings to the optimal settings, and rebooted once again.  Still nothing past the POST screen. I decided I was going to boot into the BIOS again and change the settings below the safe settings to see if it would boot.  I rebooted, and nothing but black screen, no POST beep, no BIOS screen…. CRAP!

So, I decided to try my original single core CPU, hoping I did not fry my newly acquired six core CPU.  However, after installation I was still looking at a black screen, so I decided to swap out the video card with an older one I have.  After installing the video card, I thought I would be good.  Still nothing…  So, there I was, no desktop PC.  I pulled out a HP Pavilion dv6910us laptop I purchased in 2009, and jumped back online to troubleshoot my issue.

I eventually gave up and gathered the little funds I had, and purchased myself another motherboard.  When the motherboard did arrive, it was not the one I ordered!  I called TigerDirect about the wrongfully sent item, and their reply was, “Did you receive the correct item listed on the invoice?”  For a moment I was going to say, “If I received the correct item, I would not be calling you.”  but I did not say that.  I pulled out the invoice, and seen that it was indeed the same motherboard that was shipped.  I then jumped onto my laptop to check my email to look at my confirmation of my order.  I informed the service individual that the invoice did not match my email confirmation order.  Somewhere between ordering my part, and getting the part off the shelf, there was a change in my invoice, or someone could not find the part I ordered, and decided to exchange it for one of lesser value.  So, anyway, I politely asked for the service individuals name, and he replied “Carl”.  I said, “Carl, is there a way that you can rectify this situation of the wrong motherboard sent to me that can not handle a six core CPU, but only up to a four core CPU, or should I contact your supervisor?”  Well, Carl seemed very eager to help all of the sudden, and he found another motherboard twenty three dollars more than the one I already purchased.

Carl then said that he would send it right away, for an even exchange using two day air, and the shipping would be paid for by TigerDirect.  I then asked about the wrongfully sent motherboard, and Carl replied stating that I would receive an email with the return shipping label, so no charge to me.  I only had to drop the package off to any UPS location.

So, the new motherboard arrived, and the motherboard could not recognize my hard drive dual booting operating systems.  So, I just re-installed Windows XP irated edition, and the ton of updates and rebooting all day yesterday.  I did not delete my Debian Linux partitions, but I did re-install it, but kept my /home partition intact.  Basically I re-installed Linux, and did not lose any of my stuff.  However, my sound was not working, and I tried recompiling my drivers, and still no sound.  I gave up and went to sleep.  Today after work, I decided to install the same OS as my laptop, which was Fedora 18.  I just finished installing it, and upgraded it to FusionLinux.  It is basically Fedora, but with all the codecs and other multimedia installed.  The updates and codecs took me almost twelve minutes to install all 384 updates!  That was the longest update I have ever done in Linux, but I am sure they will be much smaller now that it is all up to date. 

There you have it, after eleven years of having Debian on my desktop, it was replaced with Fedora.  Debian was a good friend, and will not be forgotten…  I may even install Debian again when a new kernel comes out, who knows…

Leave a Reply

